Weed Identity

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Kitkat

Kitkat

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Interests:I am currently a sales administrator with a passion for animals.
    I studied 2 years of animal care at college then went on to do a HNC in animal management.

Posted 28 November 2015 - 10:06 AM

Hi guys, I've just got my new addition (photos to follow)

Can you identify these weeds for me, I have gave her some nettles and dandelion but I'm under the impression these are to only be given occasionally so are any of these a better food source?

My weed seeds have starting coming through but not quick enough!

Thanks for the help 😊

Attached Files

#2 gizmosmum

gizmosmum

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Dogs, narrowboats,

Posted 28 November 2015 - 11:55 AM

3 is chickweed I think. OK.
Check out Linda king book in other post.
Also. http://m.thetortoise...m/plants_19.asp
If you haven't already. 2 maybe forget me not? Last one may be bristly ox tongue. But look them up on tortoisetable to be sure.

#3 Kitkat

Kitkat

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 14 posts
    I studied 2 years of animal care at college then went on to do a HNC in animal management.

Posted 28 November 2015 - 03:13 PM

Thank you for that. That's been a great help  :)

#4 Graham

Graham

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Interests:Looking after my Harry, of course, birdwatching, writing articles for my professional journal, Taekwon-Do, going to the ballet, eating out, holidaying in Scotland with my wife.

Posted 28 November 2015 - 04:48 PM

Hi, the first one's Scarlet Pimpernell, and a definite no-no; the second one could be forget-me-not, but looks more like willowherb to me; in either event, they're both fine for torts. Third looks like chickweed but I'm not certain. The fourth looks very much like Nipplewort, which is fine. No idea on the fifth, sorry, but the sixth, I think, is Bristly Ox Tongue.