Newbie - Introducing Myself

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 babettebeau

babettebeau

Advanced Tortoise Member

• PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Interests:My interests: Naturopathic nutrition, biology, physiology and biochemistry, Iyengar yoga, meditation and mindfulness, swimming, food, cooking, baking, growing flowers and plants, nature in general, travel. Also metaphysics and the 12 universal laws.

Posted 10 June 2016 - 06:52 PM

Hi there,

My name is Sabina from London. I am a newbie and will get two Hermann babies at the end of August 2016. They will be approx 1 year old and they are Sue's hatchlings.

I have been reading about Hermann tortoises for about 4 months now. At the moment I am preparing everything for their arrival  - indoor enclosure that i can put outside and back, UV/heat lamps, substrates, carex plants, drift wood pieces, pebblestones in etc, growing the Tort Lady's seeds, also i bought the Tort's lady book to identify the weeds that they can eat and which grow in the UK.

Also in spring 2017 when they wake up from hibernation, they will have an outdoor enclosure with access to shelter that can be heating, a sun room etc. I was thinking of building an outdoor enclosure which is dug in the ground so that the tip of the top of the fence is actually at ground level, if it makes sense.

I am telling you this is a lot of planning  :)

I have a a couple of questions:

Re the indoor enclosure that can be put outside. If i assess it ti better to leave them overnight outside because inside it it warmer at night that outside, would they need a ceramic heater on and heat lamp on in the morning to get them going?