Outdoor Questions

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 JenB

JenB

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Interests:I have two children, both girls (aged 12 years and 18mths)
    I am an A and E nurse in Manchester and love every minute of it.

Love camping, cycling and anything fun and exciting.

We have two cats, Marilyn and Jimmy and now our new addition Hank the tortoise!

Posted 22 June 2016 - 09:02 PM

Hi everyone, we have started plans to get Hank outside. I just have a few questions...
1. I don't want Hank to dig down and out so was thinking of lining the enclosure with tarpaulin. Is this ok?
2. I have an area of the enclosurewhich is sheltered at one end, do I need to put a heater inside here and is it left on all the time? I was thinking of getting a temperature controller but not sure if they are reliable?
3. If it's cold outside or really wet, do I bring him inside?

Thanks x

#2 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts

Posted 23 June 2016 - 02:57 AM

Hi everyone, we have started plans to get Hank outside. I just have a few questions...
1. I don't want Hank to dig down and out so was thinking of lining the enclosure with tarpaulin. Is this ok?
2. I have an area of the enclosurewhich is sheltered at one end, do I need to put a heater inside here and is it left on all the time? I was thinking of getting a temperature controller but not sure if they are reliable?
3. If it's cold outside or really wet, do I bring him inside?

Thanks x

Hi Jenny,