5 replies to this topic

#1 Janna

Janna

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 24 October 2016 - 06:55 AM

Hi

I have a fridge being delivered on Weds and Exo terra thermometer on the way.

Ben is in his 40's and stopped eating 10 days ago.

He is digging down into his soil in his greenhouse.

I am digging him up and I giving him baths every other day, then he sits under his lamp for a few hours , or has a wander round the garden if it is sunny before digging back down.  

I have some polystyrene packaging, and bagged top soil. 

There is so much conflicting advice about boxes/substrate for the fridge and this is my first attempt at fridge hibernation.

What are people doing with their older tortoises at the moment - 

When will you be putting your tortie in the fridge?

How do you pack them?

Many thanks for any comments - getting a bit jittery!

J

#2 Graham

Graham

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Interests:Looking after my Harry, of course, birdwatching, writing articles for my professional journal, Taekwon-Do, going to the ballet, eating out, holidaying in Scotland with my wife.

Posted 24 October 2016 - 12:32 PM

Hi, Janna,

It's completely normal to feel apprehensive and jittery when it comes to hibernating out torts, especially for the first time. 

First of all, it's the wind-down that's really important; as long as you get that right, the hibernation should be completely fine. For an adult tortoise, this period lasts four weeks, so Ben is due to go in around November 10th. 

My Harry is in fifty next year, so I'm in the same boat as you. Do remember that Ben has hibernated over forty times in his life already, so he's well-used to the experience. 

I've found that a large plastic tub (similar to an ice cream container) is ideal; I half-fill it with sterilised top-soil, as this gives moisture, and a substrate to burrow down in, a more natural environment for them.