16 replies to this topic

#1 crusty

crusty

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 22 December 2016 - 11:08 AM

Hi guys,

I need some advice, I got Tank in September and as it's my first time with a Tortoise I was planning on not hibernating him this winter.

He lives in a Tortoise table in our kitchen/dining room at the moment with the normal heat bulb and UV tube, with topsoil as the substrate, but over the last couple of weeks he's been eating less and has become less active. he use to just snuggle down a bit to sleep but now has buried himself down deep, I have dug him out and bathed him but he just reburies himself after an hour or so.

Should I leave him be or keep digging him up and bathing him?

#2 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts

Posted 23 December 2016 - 03:01 AM

Morning, i would still wake him up and bath him and offer him food even if he doesn't stay up long, have you checked the temps in your table lately and has the table plenty of light. :) 

#3 Andyc

Andyc

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 29 December 2016 - 09:43 PM

Good day,
Mine is doing the same, I've turned one heat lamp off, and one uv light and she keeps tucking herself in dark corner and sleeping, not eating now either. I was doing the wind down so feeding less and lower temp. What's next stage? She is steady weight of 302. What do I hibernate her in? Soil? Sreadded newspaper? Many thanks
Andy

#4 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts

Posted 30 December 2016 - 04:38 AM

Good day,
Mine is doing the same, I've turned one heat lamp off, and one uv light and she keeps tucking herself in dark corner and sleeping, not eating now either. I was doing the wind down so feeding less and lower temp. What's next stage? She is steady weight of 302. What do I hibernate her in? Soil? Sreadded newspaper? Many thanks
Andy

Hi Andy,