• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Geraldine

Geraldine

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 January 2017 - 02:09 PM

Hi I am very new to having tortoises. I have had my two hatchlings for 4 weeks now, they are 4 months old. I am concerned that they are too big for their age. I weighed and measured them this morning. Beryl is 41g & 550mm and Doris is 38g & 510mm. I am feeding them on Florette Crispy salad with the occasional dandelion & plantain leaves. Are these sizes ok?

#2 wizzasmum

wizzasmum

Advanced Tortoise Member

• PipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Interests:Family
    Tortoise keeping and breeding
    Gardening
    Greyhound rescue
    Reading
    Walking
    Travelling

Posted 02 January 2017 - 05:00 PM

They are rather large for their age Geraldine, but luckily still small enough to change things. I have some hatchlings here that were hatched beginning of September and they weigh between 18 and 25 grams. A lot depends on what size they were on hatching and when you had them too ;)

#3 Geraldine

Geraldine

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 January 2017 - 07:15 PM

I do not know how much they weighed when they hatched, but when I collected them on the 30th November they were 35g & 34g. What do you suggest I do to reduce their growth rate. I currently feed them once a day and generally the food has all gone within half an hour.

#4 wizzasmum

wizzasmum

Advanced Tortoise Member

• PipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
    Gardening
    Greyhound rescue
    Reading
    Walking
    Travelling

Posted 03 January 2017 - 01:56 AM